Crazy, Fun Week (Month!)

Standard

This past week was Crazy Week at school which of course means dressing up in fun, crazy costumes.

The kids LOVE it.

Mom and Dad a little less so.

Not that we don’t think the kids look adorable all dressed up but pulling together 6 costumes a day for 5 days in a row is incredibly exhausting!

But before I share Crazy Week photos I better share some hair cut photos lest you wonder who these pictures are actually of πŸ™‚

The triplets have been begging for haircuts for a while and we haven’t had the time to get in and get it done.

That changed two weeks ago and well, here are the results:

DSC_0294

Yes, giving your sister bunny ears it the most fun ever…

So yea, they now look nothing like the family pictures in the previous post! Their hair is gone.

Despite my sadness at their shorter hair the girls love it and getting them ready in the morning is much faster and filled with a lot less tears.

DSC_0300

Julianna

DSC_0297

Rachel

DSC_0296

Alyssa

Not to be left out, Caleb who really did need a haircut said it would be okay if my friend also cut his hair. He was very surprised when he liked it since it wasn’t a “boy” haircut place, per se. Don’t worry, he didn’t have any girly products or anything. My friend is a mom of 2 boys so she knows how to cut a guys hair!

And isn’t he just so handsome?!

DSC_0304

Caleb

Kaitlyn, on the other hand, has no problems at all being left out of the hair party! She did NOT want hers cut off and it was all I could do to convince her she at least needed a trim to keep her hair healthy. At least she let my friend play with her hair a little πŸ™‚ I mean, how cute is she?!

DSC_0305

Kaitlyn

DSC_0307

Close-Up and without the phone!!

As the name implies last week was Crazy Week. For us every week is crazy week but this time the school actually admits to it!

On Monday it’s “Sports Day”

Heads up. We are not big sports people.

So, our “costumes” are a tad lame, er, simple

DSC_0551

The big kids costumes weren’t any better.

Tuesday though we had a winner in the family – Caleb won for best costume.

DSC_0614

I think you’ll agree – he looks the part!!

DSC_0616

Kaitlyn went with her favorite activity – baking. She makes great cookies and loves to bake for us so the costume seemed only natural – complete with store bought pastries to bribe the judges πŸ™‚

DSC_0619

As for the triplets we had a teacher, a scientist and an artist. Rachel also won best costume on Tuesday though how the judges decided between the three of them that day I’ll never know! I think they all did a great job and put a lot of thought into their outfits.

DSC_0624

Wednesday was Bible Character day. There are many “characters” in the Bible but there aren’t that many costumes so as you can imagine there were quite a few angels at school:

DSC_0674and Queen Esthers:

DSC_0675

and Pharoah’s Daughter (we had 2 but only Kaitlyn won best costume):

DSC_0676DSC_0678

And then, of course, Caleb went for the obscure Bible character. No, not Caleb, Othneal. Sure – I’m sure Othneal dressed like this πŸ™‚

DSC_0677

Thursday was Wacky Day and I didn’t get individual pictures of everyone but Alyssa won best costume by dressing inΒ a horse costume and then put a bathing suit on top of it. All her idea and it was pretty funny. Sadly, I only got a picture of her with someone else not in our family so I can’t post it here. But it was a costume that had everyone laughing and the judges were impressed that the idea came out of her own imagination.

Friday was School Spirit Day and I failed to get pictures all together that day. The week just got crazier as we went along and Friday was the worst. However, Julianna won best costume on Friday so everyone got a chance to have the best costume πŸ™‚

Our week ended with the school fall festival and for me was the end of my work on one of the school’s biggest fundraiser’s. I spend a crazy amount of time putting items together for baskets to be auctioned off at a silent auction. Me with the biggest basket – the smile is because the auction went well and my big job is behind me for another year!!

DSC_0402 (2)

We’ve had lots of fun already this fall and we’re looking forward to a whole lot more as we celebrate Caleb’s 10th birthday and the triplet’s 7th birthday in just a few more short days. Sniff sniff.

But I can’t end this post without wishing my mom a very, very Happy Birthday!! My mom’s biggest wish every year is for a clean house and a happy home. Being far from her I can’t grant either wish but I know when we’re with her we’re all very happy so hopefully that will count. I love my mom, of course and it brings me great joy to see how much she loves my kids and how much they love her back. They look forward to seeing her and talking to her all the time and we all can’t wait to see her again soon.

Happy Birthday Mom. We love you!

Leave a Reply

