Catching Some Big Waves in Florida

Standard

If you know me, you know I’m not a beach person.

At all.

I must explain. Being there is okay but the sand in EVERYTHING and the coming and going I can do without – the packing to go and then the leaving with all the sand and feeling gross. Yeah, I hate that part.

But it’s Florida and being so close to the beach means you have to go at least once so we did.

And today we didn’t find calm seas but huge, crashing waves. Not surprising given all the weather we’ve had but it meant no calm swimming in the gulf.

DSC_0913

No calm seas here – look at those waves! And they just kept coming.

DSC_0918

Lunch time in the wind with Grandpa – had to sit on the chairs or they would blow away!

DSC_0929

Caleb’s ready to take on the waves. Even if he doesn’t match πŸ™‚ But I’m betting that’s just a mom thing!

DSC_0920

Kaitlyn and Caleb keeping Rachel and Alyssa from getting pulled under the waves and away from the rocks.

DSC_0922

Julianna’s venturing in.

DSC_0931

Everyone but Rachel braving the waves. She is pretty tiny and the waves pushed her right over.

DSC_0960

Tiny doesn’t mean she’s not adorable!!

DSC_0942

Caleb, Kaitlyn and Grandpa having a great time in the waves.

DSC_0945

Kaitlyn’s in that wave somewhere πŸ™‚

DSC_0964

All the girls playing in the sand – I think this was their favorite part. When we were done they were still digging!

DSC_0969

I did venture in the water but every time I did I had to hold a triplet or two tight to make sure the waves didn’t take her away!

DSC_0003

After swimming the kids were feeding the seagulls some leftover bread. Not sure who had more fun, the kids or the birds.

DSC_0022

Why oh why is it so hard to get five kids to look forward and smile??!!

DSC_0027

Also, Rachel’s eyes don’t open and Alyssa can’t give me a good face. I kept trying and this is the best I got!

And some more pictures because well, I think my kids are cute and it’s my blog so yep, more photos!! Also, I’ve got to get something good out of going to the beach and great outdoor pics are what I get. Clearly, I’m not a photographer but occasionally I get a photo I like and have to share.

DSC_0031

Rachel running in the sand.

DSC_0021

Just did not want to sit on the bench swing.

DSC_0927

The mask just cracks me up.

Even though I prefer the pool to the beach we had a pretty good day fighting the surf and playing in the sand.

One response »

  1. I’m totally with you on all that stupid sand!!!! I love the beach but hate it at the same time for that very same reason. The kids are getting so big!!!!!

Leave a Reply

