I Exalt You, O God Book Review

Standard

418a5S8HLNL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_SX285_SY380_CR,0,0,285,380_SH20_OU01_Feels like forever since I’ve been able to do a book review. Instead of an actual copy I ordered this as a digital copy and for some reason that was really complicated for me! After months of putting it off I finally decided that I had to get this book and get it read and I’m so glad I did!

I am a big Jerry Bridges “fan” – I enjoy his books – they are God-centered and Gospel-focused and this book is no exception.

Set up as a 31-day devotional each day is focused on God followed by a written prayer that glorifies God using scripture. It is easy to read and gives you an amazing view of God. How can you not be in awe of God when the author lays out how great He is? One of my favorite examples was when Bridges says he measured how much water he could hold in the hollow of his hand and came up with barely a tablespoonful while God tells us in Isaiah that he measures the waters in the hollow of His hand! But lest we think God is so far away as not to care, Bridges consistently brings us back to the gospel and what Jesus has done for us on the cross. Not only does God love us but God IS love.

This book is perfect for anyone who watns to have devotional time with God. It immediately focuses your attention on Christ, lays out Biblical truths and then walks you through a prayer praising God based on the truths that you have just read. The devotionals are short and can be read pretty quickly which makes them perfect for my own personal devotions as well as for my husband who has a very busy career and my pre-teen daughter who is just beginning to learn what having a devotional time means.

Bottom Line for this book: 5 Stars, Excellent, God-Centered devotional; Highly Recommend!

You can get this book as a hard back or as an eBook on your Kindle at Amazon.com

This book was received free of charge from WaterBrook Multnomah’s Blogging for Books Program. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

