The Best Laid Plans

Standard

I had every intention of posting every day in 2013! Here I am 4 days in and I’ve already missed a day. Figures! It was unintentional as the day just completely slipped away from me. It was an incredibly lofty goal anyway so I’m not too upste but still it’s funny to see how fast a New Year’s resolution can go down the tubes!

Anyone who knows me knows that I have a things for numbers. Phone numbers, dates, birthdays – it’s a a weird quirck. I know all my friend’s birthdays and their kids birthdays and other weird stuff like how many days are in between birthdays and whether the numbers have meaning – for example my birthday is on the 28th as is my mother’s and my SIL’s but on different months. I think it’s cool 🙂

One date that I always remember is January 4th. I really have no idea why other than in some ways it’s the day that changed my life forever.

It was January 4th, 1994 and my boyfriend of six months had just broken up with me.

It wasn’t just any break-up.

No, at the time I lived in Florida and he lived in Oklahoma! As a Christmas present my parents bought me a plane ticket to go out and visit him (staying with some other friends). I had flown out a few days after Christmas and spent every day with him.

I was flying back to Florida on January 5th.

On the 4th he sat me down and gave me the speech most everyone has heard at least once in their life “You’re great but I just don’t love you anymore.”

Ouch!

He said a bunch of other weird stuff like we didn’t have to tell anyone we broke up and I could keep his class ring, etc.

Um, no! If you want it over then, it’s over.

He was still kind enough (?) to drive me to the airport the next day. I can only imagine how unhappy my dad was to hear of the news. After all, it was his dime that had sent me there in the first place and this is a guy everyone liked! But my parents were great about it and comforted me when I cried.

The thing about life is that God ALWAYS has a plan.

I had NO plan to break up with this guy. I thought we were good even with the long-distance thing but God had other plans.

That other plan was Kirk.

I had already met Kirk at school in my Physics class – I was a student, he was the teacher’s helper since he had already graduated high school. He said he had noticed me but had noticed I had a boyfriend so he didn’t think much about it.

Through a series of circumstances I ended up asking Kirk to prom that April and he said yes.

The rest they say is “history”.

Funny, the ex-boyfriend called me a few months later and asked me to come back. I just barely knew Kirk at the time and we had no real relationship so I could’ve gone back but it didn’t feel right. In fact, I have a specific memory of when we were dating when I found something out about him that I really didn’t like. It wasn’t a deal breaker but it was one that made me stop and ask God why this guy would be the man for me.

Turns out, he wasn’t the guy for me. God had a bigger and better plan for me.

And now, 19 years later I can see what an amazing plan it was. It’s little things like today that are a reminder of the great God I have placed my trust in. 19 years ago today I couldn’t imagine why I had to endure such pain (and you know when you are 17 being broken up with is the end. of. the. world!!) but oh so graciously God was showing me what He had written in His word:

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for peace and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

Romans 8:28 “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to His purpose.”

Leave a Reply

