Dollar Doublers at Harris Teeter!

Standard

It seems fitting to have this post on the 2nd day of the year 🙂 It’s a great start to my year too because Dollar Doubler week is a great week to save lots of money on my groceries!

Don’t know what that is?

Let me explain 🙂

Normally Harris Teeter (my favorite store here in Northern Virginia) doubles all coupons up to $0.99 BUT on certain weeks of the year they will double coupons up to $2.00!! So if you have a $2.00 coupon it will double to $4.00 off! Combine that with the right deal and you have some serious savings.

After 2 runs today (if I had planned better it would have just been one!) this is what I picked up:

1st Run

Spent: $11.55
Saved: $48.93
Earned: $3.00 back on my next order from Classico Pasta

DSC_0312

2nd Run:

Spent: $14.42
Saved: $40.55
Earned Back: $1.00 back on my next order from Classico Pasta

DSC_0318

Spent today: $25.97

Total saved: $89.48!! That’s a saving of almost 77%!

My best deals:

Classico Pasta (by far the best deal this week)

Regular price: $2.99
Sale price: Buy 1, Get 1 Free
Used: $1.00/2 coupon from SS 11/18 (SmartSource)
Earned back: $1.00 for each 2 I bought – a total of $4.00 earned back for my next order
Final price: FREE

Sister Shubert’s Mini Loaves

Regular Price: $4.29
Sale Price: Buy 1, Get 1 Free
Used: 2 $1.00/1 coupons from SS 11/18 (SmartSource)
Final Price: $0.29 for both!

Special K Cereal and Bars

Regular Price: $3.55
Sale Price: 2/$5.00
E-Vic Special: $1.97 each
Used: $0.70/1 coupon printed from Swagbucks
Final Price: $0.57/box

ALSO: There’s a special if you buy 3 Special K items you get an automatic $2.00 off your order so I added a box of Special K bars for $2.50 which after the promotion were $0.50

Total for all 3 items: $1.64

Kraft Fresh Take

Regular Price: $3.15
Sale Price: $2.77
Used 3 $1.00/1 coupons printed from Swagbucks
Final Price: $0.77 each

A few things to note:

1. There is a doubling limit at Harris Teeter of 20 coupons per day – this includes coupons that are less than $1.00 so you should consider whether or not you want to double a coupon under $1.00 because coupons under a dollar normally double. Today I used 4 coupons that were under a dollar but the items I picked up either won’t be on sale next or most likely won’t be there next week (the kids yogurt was on clearance so I used 2 $0.75/2 coupons to bring the price down from 4 for $5.00 to 4 for $2.00)

2. The Swagbucks link is my own referral link. Swagbucks is an excellent way to earn money just from searching. I earn somewhere between $150 and $200 a year for free items on Amazon and wow does that help me save some money on books and other items! Helped me save money on lots of Christmas toys. For referrals I earn as you earn from searching – if you don’t wish to use my link I would still highly recommend you go to www.swagbucks.com and register for yourself! Coupons can also be printed from www.coupons.com but if printed through Swagbucks you earn 10 Swagbucks for every coupon printed and redeemed through them. It takes a few weeks to post to your account but 10 Swagbucks is equivalent to $0.10 back in your pocket!

3. My coupon match-ups were made using Southern Savers – she does a great job of matching up a large amount of items. It’s not perfect but still is a HUGE help to me! Lots of other coupon match-ups for this week can be found there.

4. To get the sale prices you do need to have a VIC card through Harris Teeter – when you do be sure and register your e-mail as that will make you eligible for the e-Vic specials every week. The best part? On Fridays I get a second e-mail with extra e-Vic specials – this is my biggest secret for getting cereal for $0.50 or less so I ALWAYS keep an eye out for that!

I hope this is the start to a year of good food savings 🙂

One response »

Leave a Reply

