Swinging 5-year-olds

Standard

Ever since the girls were born five years ago I’ve taken pictures of them on the swings out back. Just another fun way to see how much they’ve changed in the past few years and it amazes me how each year they look that much different and that much older.

I’d say the biggest change between this year and last is that they can all swing by themselves. No more pushing kids on a swing for me -yeah!

I’m a little late on my photos this year being as May has already started and I normally do this in April.

Julianna Mabel: When I looked back at what I wrote about her last year it’s not a whole lot different than what I would say today! She’s still a princess and loves to do all things girly. What impresses me about Julianna is how determined she is. When she wants something she tries really hard to get it. She’s very smart and likes to be at the top of her class. She’s competitive in every way and loves verbal praise. She’s very sweet and is a huge help to her preschool teacher by going out of her way to include some of the shyer classmates in her activities. I look forward to seeing the woman she becomes but not yet. I want to enjoy every moment of her being young despite her itching to grow up!

April 2007

April 2008

April 2009

April 2010

April 2011

April (May) 2012

Rachel Gabrielle: She’s still my most “clingy” child. She has no problem entering into new situations but if she has a chance to hang on to me or Kirk she will take it! Rachel is an amazing artist and the best reader in her class. She amazes me with how smart she is and how good she is at what she does. She has focus and patience to sit for long periods of time and work on her crafts. She loves to practice reading and tries to “read” me books. She knows more words than I would expect and makes me laugh at how she sounds out the words she doesn’t. She’s also still the easiest to photograph. My sweet “yellow-haired” model!

April 2007

April 2008

April 2009

April 2010

 

April 2011April (May) 2012

Alyssa Elaine: She surprises me every day. So often I think she doesn’t comprehend things but then she goes and answers a question perfectly. She’s a little behind her sisters in reading but she LOVES to be read to. In class she is the most eager to help others. I’ve been told more than once that when a student has come to visit the class Alyssa is the one to talk to them and include them immediately. She has a huge heart and is so full of life. She’s still the baby of the family and loves to act like it. You will always find her hands full of some toy or another. She loves fish, whales and all things marine life and occasionally ilkes being a girl!

April 2007

April 2008

April 2009

April 2010

April 2011

April (May) 2012

I love seeing how the girls change from one year to the next all the while being scared and amazed at just how fast the time goes. I mean, we’re now on the countdown to Kindergarten! They are in a hurry to grow up and I am just praying it will slow down so I can enjoy every moment and remember whatever I can.

Of course, with a new toy in the backyard all five kids would rather jump on the trampoline than swing on the swings.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

