He Is Risen! Celebrating Easter

Standard

The kids have been off for Spring Break for over a week and we have been busy seeing friends and having sleepovers. Yesterday we celebrated Easter by worshipping with our church family in the morning and then fellowshipping with them in the evening. It’s the closest thing we have to family here when most of our family is 900 miles away!

We also colored eggs, though this year they came out just okay:

And the kids got Easter “baskets” though this year they didn’t really have baskets.

And pretty much against their will I took pictures of the kids in their Easter outfits. Forgot to take them yesterday so I asked to do them today. They reluctantly agreed. I know, mean mom with camera!

So I will just say that I tried to get photos of the kids but that 1. I am not a photographer (don’t claim to be and don’t really want to be) and 2. They DID NOT want to cooperate!! I guess Kirk will have to come behind me and Photoshop their smiles on…

Then the cat joined us so we had a few real smiles – notice Caleb – still smiling for me 🙂 It’s possibly the only real smile I got from Kaitlyn!

The girls were also a little less coordinated this year. Not the littles but Kaitlyn didn’t match her sisters. Not a big deal but just another indication that I was a bit less prepared for Easter this year!

So of course I had to take photos of the girls together but Rachel was the only one who wanted to cooperate!

Rachel was my most photogenic or at least the most willing to actively participate in the photos!

Alyssa was my next  victim  subject. They all posed for me but Alyssa was the only one who asked after each photo – are we done? Oh for the days when they were little and had no idea that I took a million photos of them!

Band-aid story: Alyssa managed to smack her face two days in a row – Friday she got excited, jumped on a chair and smacked her face into the window – her nose bled for quite a while after. Then Saturday she was playing outside, tripped over a toy and fell face first into the deck cutting open a spot on the side of her face and causing her nose to bleed – again! How crazy is that?

After Alyssa came Julianna. My models were getting less and less willing by the child.

Julianna’s first pose: 

Nice right? It got a little better after a few shots:

I would have thought that once I moved on to the big kids it would get easier but no. The only good shot I got of Kaitlyn was when she was acting goofy!

Pretty much the same thing when I tried to take photos of just the girls together. Okay picture.

Photo of the girls being crazy but look at those smiles!!

After convincing Caleb that it was okay to wear “inside clothes” outside I was able to drag him out to join the pictures. He was by far the hardest to take pictures of. Not sure why, he sure is a handsome guy!

He’s a little bit conscious of his teeth because he’s been losing teeth and having new ones come in a little bit crooked. Looks like he’ll be getting braces the moment Kaitlyn’s come off! I know their orthodontist is looking at my family and going cha-ching, cha-ching, cha-ching!!

Hoping your family had a blessed Easter.

Because He was rased and lives we know that we too have eternal life!

John 6:35-40: Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life, whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst. But I said to you that you have seen me and yet you do not believe. All that the Father gives to me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never cast out. For I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will but the will of Him who sent me. And this is the will of Him who sent me, that I should lose nothing of all that He has given me, but raise it up on the last day. For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in Him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.”

Leave a Reply

