Not This Time Book Review: Preferred The Other Books In The Series

Standard

For the past year I have been part of Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group’s Blogging for Books program. It’s a great program – they send me books to read and I review them on my Blog. I love books, I love to read, they publish books I love to read – what could be more perfect?

My latest read was a book called Not This Time by Vicki Hinze (which was provided to me to review from the publisher). I was really looking forward to this book but unfortunately it didn’t live up to my expectations.

Here is my review. It may sound like I’m harsh on the author but I do like her, I just didn’t like this book:

I have to start this review by saying I was really, really looking forward to this book. I enjoyed the first two books in the series and couldn’t wait for the third so when it arrived I started reading right away. Then I put it down. It took me forever to get into the book. I had no idea what was going on or why. There was a TON of backstory – everything I never wanted to know about the characters. The main character, Beth was constantly talking to herself and asking herself questions rather than doing things.

There were a lot of characters and a lot of plot and all of that together makes the book hard to follow even though I read the first two books and knew who most of the characters were. Some of the action came across as corny and not tension-filled as I believe the author hoped. The romance side of the story was okay but predictable.

Even though I read the first two the plot was still confusing. The book opens with a terrorist attack and then the finding of a bloody mattress by two people we never meet again. In the third chapter we finally meet the main character, Beth and all she does is tell us her whole life story for many chapters to follow.

Now Beth’s best friend, Sara’s husband, Robert is missing and the police suspect Beth kidnapped him for about three pages. They really don’t have any suspects or motive except the terrorist organization NINA. Beth wants to help find him for Sara but is torn because she doesn’t like him and Sara is acting odd about it but won’t tell anyone what’s wrong. This goes on for chapters.

When the book is finally resolved the ending is confusing and not exciting. The only bad guy that I liked (for a bad guy) is killed for no reason. Now Raven, whose identity wasn’t much of a surprise but was an odd choice, is trying to take over this tiny town by installing their guy as mayor. I’m not exactly sure what she or NINA wanted with Seagrove Village but I think it had to do with Beth and Sara’s money.

If you haven’t read the first two books I wouldn’t bother with this one you won’t be able to figure out what’s going on. If you read the first two then this is worth a read to wrap up the series. The author is a great writer and I enjoyed her first two books but I don’t feel like she hit the mark this time.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

