Dollar Doubler At Harris Teeter

Standard

I know the whole reason for this blog isn’t really couponing but it’s still a part of my life and I didn’t want to lose the idea of my Tightwads blog completely. So when Harris Teeter doubles coupons up to $1.98 it’s a big deal in my world! On a side note, I am planning to make a couponing/meal plan tab just as soon as I get a few extra minutes to sit down and work on the blog.

The sale runs from 2/15 to 2/21 – as always they only double up to 20 a day.

Here’s what I picked up on my first trip:

Total spent: $46.53

Total saved: $82.10

Earned back: $5 Catalina from General Mills

I should also note that my total includes a few full price items: 2 gallons of milk ($6.38); some trash bags ($3.77) and some bananas ($2.82) for $12.97 of my total

My best deals:

Smart Balance Milk

Regular price: $3.99/each

Sale price: $3.00

Used 3 $1.50 off 1 coupons which doubled from SS 1/08 (or Smart Source insert from January 8th)

Final price: FREE

Ricola Cough Drops

Regular price: $2.19/each

Sale price: buy 1 get 1 free

Used 3 $1.00/2 coupons from SS 1/01 (or Smart Source insert from January 1st)

Final price: $0.19 for 2 or $0.10/each

Grande Tortilla Chips (a family favorite – we love these!)

Regular price: $2.99/each

Sale price: 2/$5.00 ($2.50/each)

Used 3 $1.00/1 coupons which doubled from SS 1/15 (or Smart Source insert from January 15th)

Final price: $0.50/each – this is my target price for these as the coupons are frequent and I can stock us up whenever the sale cycle comes around

General Mills Chex, Honey Nut Cheerios, Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereals (others also on sale)

Regular price: $3.65 to $3.89/each

Sale price: 2/$5.00 plus if you bought 4 boxes you got an additional $2 off making it 4/$8.00

Used: $1.00/3 coupon from SS 1/08 – if you were to buy 4 boxes of cheerios you could also use 2 $1.00/2 coupons from SS 1/22 – I’m kicking myself for not adding this up right and doing that instead – I would have saved about $1.50 more

Also used 3 eVic coupons that were on my card for an additional $1.75 off (would have been $1.25 off if I had bought 2 boxes of Cheerios – the other $0.50 came off the Cinnamon Toast Crunch)

My final price for 4 boxes: $4.25 but it would have been $2.75 if I had used 2 $1.00/2 coupons which obviously would have been the better deal – realized it at afterwards and couldn’t go back – sometimes I shouldn’t do math in my head!!

Betty Crocker Hamburger Helper

Regular price: $1.99/each

Sale price: 4/$5.00 plus when you buy 4 you receive an additional $1.00 off making 4/$4.00

Used: $0.75/3 coupon from SS 2/05 (Smart Source insert from February 5th)

Also used an eVic coupon for $0.80 off 4

Final price for 4 boxes: $1.45 or $0.36/each!!

These were my best match-ups from today – you can find these and more match-ups at Southern Savers – a free coupon match-up site that I highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

